Durice White ’09: Searching for the perfect job Part 2

As time gradually went by I noticed that I had been on the job hunt for months and was quite honestly just growing frustrated and a little under the weather. I used this time to talk to people I looked up to and find out how their experience post grad compared to mine. In talking with my cousin he informed me that this was an extremely difficult time and that most recent grads never faced what this class was going to face in finding a job. That was reassuring. He told me to search and work hard but to also take some time out to enjoy the fact that I was a college graduate. So I took his advice…well, the second part! I started going out with my friends and just enjoying my time. Hey, this was the best decision I could make. It wasn’t until I took my trip back to Elon for graduation that I realized I might have been doing a little too much “relaxing.”
Durice White '09 photo 2
Upon arrival to Elon I met up with my closest friends and we chatted on everything that was new. It seemed like most of my friends had their lives together. They either were going to graduate school or had their job lined up. WHAT?!?! I’ve been out since February and they are already set. I decided that it was time to get back on my job search and utilize the resources that I had on campus. I talked to my intern supervisor and she gave me a contact for someone in the Boston area. After enjoying my graduation, I went right to work and called that contact. Well, that did open doors! This person sent me a list of 5 people all in the field I was looking to get into. I set up informational interviews with all 5 people and took a trip to Boston.
Durice White '09 photo 4
Meeting them was great and I learned so much about job searching, networking, and working in the event planning industry. It was a relief to hear their positive comments about my experience and a great help to get their critiques regarding my resume, cover letter, etc. This was the best thing I could do. On my second to last day in the city I received a call from a job in Atlanta that I had applied to about a month and a half ago. Instantly, I was given a phone interview and was called back the next day for a video conference interview that was located in Boston! How coincidental!

During this time I learned that persistence was key! I had to call, email and call again most of my contacts to get 10 minutes of their time. Also, I kept a binder/folder of all the jobs I applied to. This made it easier for me when I received that call to quickly find the job and the qualifications along with it.
Durice White '09 photo 3

Comments are closed.