Durice White ’09: Searching for the perfect job

Durice White '09, photo 1I completed my graduation requirements in January 2009 (after an amazing winter term abroad in Barbados). I spent the next few months “starting” my job search. I could have never guessed how difficult that was going to be. I utilized every job search engine that was out there…CareerBuilder, Monster, Craigslist, Yahoo, etc. I instantly fell in love with Indeed.com. The website combines every job search engine into one and you can make your search as specific or vague as possible. What’s even better is that whenever you enter into the website it automatically pulls up your most recent searches and includes any new job posts that would fit under your category. Perfect, right?

Needless to say I spent numerous hours everyday on that website…searching jobs…finding jobs…applying for jobs…waiting to hear from jobs. It started to turn into a chore and a boring one at that. At first I was so excited and thinking I was definitely next in line for a job…WRONG! I would rarely hear back from anyone. When I would call to verify that my resume and cover letter was received I would hear: “You need more experience” or “We are not hiring right now” or even better “That position is already filled…is it still up on the website?” REALLY?!?! Again…needless to say I grew very hesitant to my possibilities on getting a job.

I really started to reconsider my major and the direction I was heading. Maybe I should go to Graduate school. I questioned why I didn’t do more internships and where I was heading. But than…I received an email from this “perfect” job I found. The job included event planning, marketing, promotion, etc and it was in the sports industry. What else would an LSM major want?

So I set up my first interview. As soon as I walked into the office I was greeted by about 15 people waiting for their interview. Each and every one of them had the same interview time as me and way more experience. I pretty much felt like I should have just walked right out that door but I stayed. When I entered the interview room I was greeted by the manager and it went something like this: “Yo girl, whassup?” Excuse me? By the time I was half way into my interview I decided this wasn’t the match for me. But I did learn a valuable lesson which was to do my research on the company and never settle for a job. Now I was right back to where I started…Indeed.com.

Comments are closed.