Lauren Juengel ‘07: Behind the scenes Part 3

Since then, I have had the opportunity to work on an opera, The Marriage of Figaro, for the Juilliard Vocal Arts Department, with Juilliard Opera Masters students. I also was fortunate to work on the Spring Dance Concert at Juilliard, which is the Dance Department’s biggest production of the year. The dancers work on pieces that are considered very relevant and important to the emergence of dance in the past, specifically in the decade of the 1970’s. They performed pieces ranging from Mark Morris’ “Gloria,” with full orchestra and chorus, to Lar Lubovitch’s “Northstar.” Mr. Lubovitch came, in fact, to dress rehearsal of the performance, gave notes and sat around talking with everyone. It was surreal to be there, seeing and listening to a living dance legend on stage. And, having the opportunity to work with the PSM, who was an institution in her own right – Maxine Glorsky, a well known stage manager in the world of dance for the past twenty-five years!

I am currently finishing my internship working on Shakespeare’s “Othello,” with Group 39 (third-year acting students). It is a pleasure to work with these professional, talented, and inspiring students. Not a day goes by where I don’t learn something from them. As I walk down the halls on the fourth floor, and I see all the pictures of the shows that came before, I look through the names and I see who seems familiar, who is currently on a television show, or in a movie, and it just blows my mind. It is such a privilege to work in a place with such history. So many talented people– the likes of Kevin Kline, Patti Lupone, Laura Linney, and Sara Ramirez (Callie on Grey’s Anatomy!) – have walked these halls, sat in these rehearsal rooms and theatres, wore these costumes, and recited these lines.

Lauren Juengel '07, pict for entry 3
And what’s next? How do you follow up a year spent in one of the most amazing places for theatre in the world? Well, for me, I’ve decided to head to graduate school. After having the opportunity to teach the drama students classes on this very subject this year, I have decided that someday, I want to work in the university setting, teaching and mentoring young stage managers to also pursue their dreams. I will be heading to Southern California this fall to begin work on my MFA in Theatre and Dance Stage Management and could not be more thrilled! To be able to do what you love is an amazing and satisfying thing. Hopefully one day I will be able to help inspire and mold others along the way to fulfilling their dreams.

Comments are closed.